Category List – Special Edgars

* Bold records denote winners

Total Records Found: 59, showing 100 per page
Award YearAward CategoryTitleAuthor's NamePublisher/ProducerNotes
2005 Special Edgars David Chase Comment: writer/producer - The Sopranos, The Rockford Files, Kolchak: The Night Stalker and many other breakthrough TV shows
2005 Special Edgars Tom Fontana Comment: writer/producer - Homicide: Life on the Street, Oz, and The Jury and many other breakthrough TV shows
2004 Special Edgars Home Box Office HBO Comment: Home Box Office, in recognition of the creation and production of their ground-breaking crime
2003 Special Edgars Dick Wolf
2002 Special Edgars Blake Edwards
2001 Special Edgars Mildred Wirt Benson Comment: The original 'Carolyn Keene Author of the Nancy Drew Mystery Series
1991 Special Edgars The Encyclopedia of World Crime, Criminal Justice, Criminology, and Law Enforcement Jay Robert Nash Crime Books, Inc.
1989 Special Edgars Joan Kahn Comment: on her retirement after 50 years in mystery publishing
1986 Special Edgars Detective and Mystery Fiction: An International Bibliography of Secondary Sources Walter Albert Brownstone Books
1985 Special Edgars The Silent Shame Mark Nykaned NBC-TV Comment: news report on child-abuse crimes
1984 Special Edgars A Bibliography of A. Conan Doyle John Michael Gibson, Richard Lancelyn Green Oxford University Press
1983 Special Edgars The Case of Dashiell Hammett Stephen Talbot PBS
1982 Special Edgars The Young Detective's Handbook William Vivian Butler HBO Comment: production of the William Gillette play
1981 Special Edgars Lawrence Spivak Comment: founding publisher of Ellery Queen's Mystery Magazine 40 years ago
1981 Special Edgars Mystery! Joan Wilson Comment: best in international programming; Series: PBS
1981 Special Edgars The Edge of Night unknown Comment: celebrating its 25th year as a TV series
1980 Special Edgars Dick Tracy Chester Gould Comment: creator of Dick Tracy nearly 50 years ago
1980 Special Edgars The Bibliography of Crimie Fiction, 1749 - 1975 Allen J Hubin University Extension/University of California
1980 Special Edgars The Murderers' Who's Who J.H.H. Gaute, Robin Odell
1979 Special Edgars Frederic Dannay Comment: celebrating 50 years since the publication of his first novel
1979 Special Edgars Mignon C. Eberhart Comment: celebrating 50 years since the publicaton of his first novel
1979 Special Edgars Columbo and Ellery Queen TV series Richard Levinson, William Link
1978 Special Edgars Allen J Hubin Comment: for a decade as editor of The Armchair Detective
1978 Special Edgars Murder Ink Dilys Winn Workman
1978 Special Edgars Mystery Writer's Handbook Lawrence Treat
1976 Special Edgars Jorge Luis Borges Comment: for distinguished contribution to the mystery genre
1976 Special Edgars Encyclopedia Brown books Donald J. Sobol Comment: juvenile mystery
1975 Special Edgars Howard Haycraft Comment: for his distinguished contribution to mystery criticism and scholarship
1975 Special Edgars Royal Bloodline: Ellery Queen, Author and Detective Francis M. Nevins, Jr. Bowling Green Popular Press
1974 Special Edgars The Onion Field Joseph Wambaugh Delacorte Press
1973 Special Edgars Mortal Consequences: A History from the Detective Story to the Crime Novel Julian Symons Harper & Row
1973 Special Edgars Murder on the Menu Jeanine Larmoth, Charlotte Turgeon Scribners
1972 Special Edgars A Catalogue of Crime Jacques Barzun, Wendell Taylor Harper & Row
1970 Special Edgars John Dickson Carr Comment: in honor of his 40 years as a mystery writer
1969 Special Edgars Ellery Queen Comment: on the 40th anniversary of The Roman Hat Mystery
1969 Special Edgars Philip Wittenberg Comment: for voluntary service to MWA as general counsel
1967 Special Edgars Julius Fast Comment: as first winner of the Edgar 22 years ago
1967 Special Edgars Clayton Rawson Comment: for decades of service to the MWA
1966 Special Edgars The Gospel According to 007 Reverend O.C. Edwards The Living Church
1964 Special Edgars Down These Mean Streets Philip Durham University of North Carolina Press
1963 Special Edgars Companion to Murder E. Spencer Shew Knopf Comment: two volume reference work
1963 Special Edgars Cops and Robbers Philip Reisman NBC
1963 Special Edgars The Ordeal of Mrs. Snow Patrick Quentin Random House Comment: collection of short stories
1962 Special Edgars The Annals of Murder Thomas M. McDade University of Oklahoma Press
1961 Special Edgars Charles Addams Comment: cartooinst of the macabre
1961 Special Edgars Elizabeth Daly Comment: grande dame of women mystery writers
1961 Special Edgars Philip Wittenberg Comment: legal counsel
1959 Special Edgars American Murder Ballads Olive Wooley Burt Oxford University Press
1957 Special Edgars Compulsion Meyer Levin Simon & Schuster
1954 Special Edgars The Frightened Wife and Other Murder Stories Mary Roberts Rinehart Rinehart & Co.
1952 Special Edgars Queen Quorum: The 125 Most Important Books of Detective-Crime-Mystery Short Stories Frederic Dannay, Manfred B. Lee Biblo and Tannen
1951 Special Edgars W.T. Brannon Comment: for general excellence in fact crime writing
1951 Special Edgars The Web Franklin Heller Comment: producer/director of MWA's TV show
1950 Special Edgars Ellery Queen Comment: for ten years' service through Ellery Queen's Mystery Magazine
1950 Special Edgars The Life of Sir Arthur Conan Doyle John Dickson Carr Harper & Row
1949 Special Edgars Clayton Rawson Comment: for launching Clue magazine
1949 Special Edgars Marie Rodell Duell, Sloan & Pearce Comment: for her editorship of the Regional Murder series
1949 Special Edgars Arthur A. Stoughton Comment: president of the Bronx Society of Arts and Sciences and custodian of Poe Cottage in Fordham for 26 years
1949 Special Edgars Peter W. Williams Comment: for creating the Edgar bust